Awards | U.S. Green Building Council
Please upgrade your browser. This site requires a newer version to work correctly. Read more

The work you do is cause for celebration.

To honor individuals and organizations whose work has produced head-turning results, USGBC regularly presents national awards.

Recipients represent a diverse range of experiences and industries but possess a shared attribute: a passion for green building and its rewards for our future.

Leadership Award

Leadership Award recipients inspire us with their words, actions and passion. Each year, we honor individuals and organizations whose vision, leadership and commitment have been fundamental to the evolution of our industry, and have helped improve awareness of the green building movement across the globe.

Previous winners:

  • 2014: Christine Ervin, president and CEO of Christine Ervin Company; David Orr, Paul Sears distinguished professor of environmental studies and politics and senior advisor to the president at Oberlin Collegeand a James Marsh professor at the University of Vermont; The Honorable Jim DeCesare, Kentucky State Representative; Lloyd Alter, managing editor of; Tom Paladino, founder and CEO of Paladino and Company
  • 2013: Gerald Hines, Founder and Chairman of Hines Interest Limited Partnership
  • 2012: Tom Darden, Executive Director of Make It Right
  • 2011: The Honorable Michael Bloomberg. As Mayor of New York City, Mayor Bloomberg established PlaNYC
  • 2010: Richard Piacentini, executive director of the Pittsburgh-based Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens
  • 2009: The Construction and Engineering Research Laboratory for the U.S. Army
  • 2008: Alexander Karsner, assistant secretary in the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
  • 2007: David Eisenberg and the Development Center for Appropriate Technology and Ashok Gupta, director of the air and energy program at Natural Resources Defense Council
  • 2006: Maria Atkinson, global head of sustainability at Lend Lease
  • 2005: Bob Berkebile, BNIM Architects

Malcolm Lewis IMPACT! Award

Named in memory of Malcolm Lewis, recipients are recognized for their high-impact, volunteer-driven work that supports a USGBC initiative.

The late Malcolm Lewis , a member of the LEED Steering Committee and chair of the Technical Scientific Advisory Committee and LEED Technical Committee, served the green building movement with dedication and selflessness. His legacy lives in smarter building, a stronger movement and a world he left better for the rest of us.

Previous winners:

The Daley Award

In 2010, the Mayor Richard M. Daley Legacy Award for Global Leadership in Creating Sustainable Cities was established and presented to Chicago Mayor Richard Daley at the Greenbuild 2010 in Chicago.

Mayor Daley dedicated his time as mayor to making Chicago one of the most environmentally-friendly cities in the nation. Chicago was one of the first cities to adopt LEED for public buildings and is one of the top cities in the U.S. for LEED projects.

Previous winners:

  • 2014: The Near Westside Initiative, Inc. (NWSI), a not-for-profit organization started by Syracuse University and The Gifford Foundation
  • 2013: Bob Dixson, Mayor of Greensburg, Kan.
  • 2012: Kevin Johnson, Mayor of Sacramento, Calif.

Ray Anderson Radical Industrialism Award

In an effort to recognize Ray Anderson’s legacy and incredible impact upon the green building industry we have worked with the Ray Anderson Foundation and his family to create the Ray Anderson Radical Industrialism Award. The award is meant to recognize a manufacturer that displays leadership in green building, corporate responsibility, and community involvement. The inaugural award was presented at the 2013 Greenbuild International Conference & Expo by the Ray Anderson Foundation to Intel Corporation.

Previous winners:

LEED for Homes Award

This award recognizes projects, developers and home builders who have demonstrated leadership in the residential building marketplace.

Previous winners:

  • 2012: The Project of the Year Award was given to the Puyallup Longhouse’s the Place of Hidden Waters, a LEED Platinum housing project, is a culturally and environmentally responsive new model for the Puyallup Tribe in the Pacific Northwest.
  • 2011: Project of the Year Award: The GO Home, built by GO Logic in Belfast, Maine. The three-bedroom LEED Platinum residence uses minimal energy and was built at construction costs comparable to a building a standard home. As a net zero and passive house, The GO Home was designed to slash energy usage by 90 percent. The project will be replicated across a 36-home community in Maine.
  • 2010: Project of the Year Award: The 100K House built by Postgreen. The LEED Platinum home was built for less than $100 per square foot by focusing on compact development, streamlining the design and construction process and focusing on implementing energy-efficiency strategies.
  • 2010: 2010 Outstanding Program Commitment: Sacramento Habitat for Humanity. In 2010 alone, seven of its homes earned LEED certification at the gold or platinum level.
  • 2009: Innovative Project Award: The BrightBuilt Barn built by Kaplan Thompson Architects, Bensonwood Homes. The LEED Platinum BrightBuilt Barn was recognized for implementing innovative strategies and techniques that go above and beyond the scope, requirements and prerequisites of LEED for Homes.
  • 2009: Outstanding Production Builder Award: Pulte Homes for Villa Trieste, planned to be a community of 185 LEED Platinum single-family homes.